Agnes Macphail Award 
seeking nominations

Agnes Macphail.
Agnes Macphail.

Agnes Campbell Macphail was once described as “the most important woman in public life that Canada has produced in the 20th century.” 

In 1921 she blazed a trail for women with her election to the House of Commons in Ottawa where she served for 19 years until 1940. In 1943, she became the first woman to sit in the Ontario Legislature, representing the riding of York East.

On March 24, 1993, Mayor Michael Prue proclaimed the first annual Agnes Macphail Day in the Borough of East York. In January 1994, East York Council established the Agnes Macphail Award.

Purpose of the award

The purpose of the award is to recognize the importance to the East York community of the issues that Agnes Macphail espoused in her long career:

• Women’s rights

• Fairness to seniors

• Criminal justice system and penal reform

• International peace and disarmament

• Access to adequate housing, health care and education.


The annual award is presented to an East York resident who has made outstanding contributions as a volunteer, advocate, contributor to community life and leader in one or more of the above fields, but is not limited to them. These contributions should be over considerable periods of time.

All residents living in the former Borough of East York are eligible, with the exception of federal, provincial and municipal elected officials, and judges while in office. Posthumous nominations are not accepted. Previous nominations which were not successful can be resubmitted for consideration.

Nomination Information:

The deadline for receipt is midnight, Thu. Jan. 5, 2023.

The following details must be included as outlined on the nomination form:

• Nominator’s testimonial

• Biography/profile of the nominee

• Affiliations

• Letters of support 

The nomination form may be found at: Agnes Macphail Email:.

Agnes Macphail Award Ceremony

The Agnes Macphail Award Ceremony will be held in March 2023, close to Agnes Macphail Day on March 24.

The recipient is honoured with a medal, framed certificate of recognition, and their portrait on an honour wall in the East York Civic Centre with other recipients.


Kam Babulal 2022

Paula Davies 2020*

Raymond White 2020*

Karen Fraser 2019

Carol Burtin Fripp 2018

Rev. Jim Parker 2017

Patrick Rocca 2016

Muhammad Masood Alam 2015

Sheila Lacroix 2014

Alan Redway 2013

Alice Carriman 2012

John Carter 2011

Bill Pashby 2010

Patricia Moore 2009

Geoff Kettel 2008

Lorna Krawchuk 2007

Shamsh Kara 2006

George Hurst 2005

Vi Thompson 2004

Dorothy Rivers-Moore 2003

Bob Hart 2002

Grace Stephens 2001

Audrey Tobias 2000

Barbara Thompson 1999

Elisabeth & Robert Lister 1998

Ruth Goldhar 1997

Marjorie Lewsey 1996

Eileen Morris Adams 1995

J. Edna Beange 1994

*The 2020 award recipients were chosen in 2020 and their awards were presented in 2021.