Nominations for Agnes 
Macphail Award now open

Agnes Macphail.
Agnes Macphail.

The East York Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee is now accepting nominations for the 28th Annual Agnes Macphail Award, to be presented in March 2022 either online or at the East York Civic Centre.

Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890-1954) was the first woman elected to the House of Commons (1921) and the first seated in the Ontario Legislature (1943). During her years in office, she focused on issues of equality rights and social justice.

Each nominee must be a resident of the former Borough of East York and an outstanding volunteer leader in community life in areas including, but not limited to: women’s rights, fairness to seniors, criminal justice and penal reform, international peace and disarmament, and to adequate housing, health care and education. Email committee chair Lorna Krawchuk at for nomination forms and more information.

Contributions to the award can be made through The East York Foundation, c/o G. Piercey, 50 Merritt Rd., East York M4B 3K6.

Donations go directly to a registered charity of the recipient’s choice. Charitable receipts are issued for donations over $25.