2016 Sports Hall of Fame inductees announced

Four new inductees will enter the Leaside Sports Hall of Fame this year, organizers have announced.

Former Toronto Argonaut Mike Bradwell, Former Toronto Marlboro and Chicago Blackhawk Terry Caffery, figure skater Tom Kalweit, and Leaside Girls Hockey Association builder Ian Shaw will be honoured at a public induction ceremony and reception at Leaside Arena on Friday, November 18th.

These four will join the 19 others who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2013. Leaside’s 2016 Athlete of the Year, to be announced in October, will also be recognized that night. Tickets for the November 18th event, at which Terry Fallis will be the guest speaker, may be purchased at the arena or online at www.LeasideSports.com.

2016 inductees to the Leaside Sports Hall of Fame

Mike BradwellMike Bradwell, Football (1986 –  )

Mike Bradwell was born in Toronto and attended Leaside High, where he played football in his final year. He was recognized as team player of the year and led Leaside to its first tier one playoff win in the school’s history. Mike studied and played football at McMaster University. Mike was selected by the Toronto Argonauts in the second round of the 2008 CFL Draft. He returned to McMaster to play his final year and joined the Double Blue in 2009. Mike played with the Argos from 2009 to 2015 and had a significant role in the team’s 100th Grey Cup victory in 2012. In 92 career games, he registered 116 catches for 1,240 yards and six touchdowns. While an Argo, Mike helped coach the Leaside High School football team for two years.

Terry Caffery, Hockey (1949 –  )

Terry Caffery was born in Leaside and grew up playing hockey at Leaside Arena where he captained Leaside Lions championship teams. He played three years with the OHA Toronto Marlboros and was Memorial Cup champion in 1967. He played one season with the Canadian national team where he tied as Canada’s leading scorer at the 1969 World Championship. Terry turned pro with the Blackhawks in 1969 and spent three seasons with Chicago, Minnesota and in the minors with Dallas and Cleveland. He was AHL Rookie of the Year in 1972. He was inaugural WHA Champion with New England Whalers in 1972-73 where his 100-point season earned him WHA Rookie of the Year. Terry joins his brother Jack as the first brothers inducted into the Leaside Sports Hall of Fame.

Tom KalweitTom Kalweit, Figure Skating (1956 –  )

Tom Kalweit was born in Quebec and joined the Laval Figure Skating Club in 1966. He excelled in all areas of figure skating and was one of those few who competed nationally and internationally in more than one discipline. He began a 26-year career at the Leaside Skating Club (LSC) in 1981. During this time, he coached skaters at all levels and helped establish a competitive Junior Synchro Team, which he took to the Nationals on several occasions. Tom also volunteered to look after music, renovate the club office, build sets and direct lighting for the ice shows. Tom is known for the culture of caring and respect he helped instil at LSC. While naturally competitive, he taught skaters the importance of competing against themselves as well as others.

Ian ShawIan Shaw, Female Hockey (1950 – 2016)

Ian Shaw was born in Hawkesbury, Ontario and moved to Toronto where he met his wife Pat. Together they raised three daughters, Catherine, Mary Anne and Jennifer. Ian’s involvement in female hockey began in 1989 when his daughter joined the Leaside Girls Hockey League (then a branch of the boys’ program). During 25 years as a volunteer, he served as assistant coach, head coach, trainer, manager, convenor, vice president and president from 1991-2000. In 1991 Ian had the league incorporated and the Leaside Girls Hockey Association was formed. Ian also served as referee, referee instructor, referee supervisor and until 2016, referee-in-chief. Ian received the Peter E. Oyler Lifetime Service Award for contributions to Leaside Arena. He was recognized twice with a lifetime service award from the Toronto Leaside Girls Hockey Association.